skip to main content
  • Visit us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • watch us on YouTube

History of censorship - 1989

System change

A Ministerial Inquiry leads to changes in the New Zealand censorship system.

In late 1987 the Minister of Justice appointed a Committee of Inquiry into Pornography. The Committee was made up of three members. The Chairperson, Joanne Morris, was a law lecturer. The second committee member, Hilary Haines, came from the Mental Health Foundation, and the third, Jack Shallcrass, was an educationalist from Victoria University.

The Committee reported back in December 1988. The Report of the Ministerial Committee of Inquiry was released in January 1989 and made 202 recommendations for change.

Read a summary of the Report (PDF, 100KB)

Back to the history of censorship timeline